Fruit trees

... and smallholding and farming and green building and downshifting ...

Moderator: Moderators

Fruit trees

by Cathy » Fri Aug 06, 2010 3:30 pm

we are considering planting some fruit trees as we are enjoying the greengage we inherited with the property. we're thinking of plum, cherry and apple, but all depends if we need 1 or 2 (or more) of each to be successful. I'm about to start researching, but any pearls of wisdom from green fingered members on what's good in these climes gratefully received by a complete novice!
Cathy
Site Admin

Re: Fruit trees

by Margaret » Thu Aug 19, 2010 5:58 pm

I don't know whereabouts you are, but if near the Pays d'Olmes or Mirepoix, can I suggest membership of Atout Fruit? It's a small local association which exists to protect the local fruit tree heritage and has all sorts of workshops, teaching etc. on the subject: planting, pruning, cooking (in French). Once a year, they give saplings away for free. Very friendly and approchable. Just google www.atout.fruit.fr
Margaret

Re: Fruit trees

by Mike » Wed Jul 25, 2012 3:34 pm